Ignatian pedagogy

Inspired by the Ignatian tradition, the Centre Sèvres attaches great importance to individual guidance, and to developing attitudes of personal reflection that are actively engaged and well grounded. Ignatian pedagogy invites people to the magis – the Latin word means ‘more’. This is not about comparison with others, still less an attempt to measure progress according to some absolute standard. What is at stake, rather, is the fullest development of each individual’s possibilities, whatever stage of life they have reached. The magis also implies a desire to continue this development over a whole lifetime, and a readiness to put the talents developed at the service of others.


Picture of a student reading in the libraryLEARNING FROM GREAT AUTHORS

  • facing the major questions arising in the disciplines of philosophy and theology
  • reading carefully and critically the classic texts


  • connecting everyday faith and practice to the deep questions posed by our times
  • broadening perspectives and deepening reflection through exchanges and seminar discussion right from the beginning

LEARNING TO DISCERNPicture of a course in Centre Sèvres

The individual support the students receive enables them to grow in other ways besides that of academic success. What they learn enables them to grow as persons, and to engage more fully with their life-projects.

  • Each student has the benefit of rigorous individual tutoring from one of the teaching staff throughout their programme.
  • Each year, the student makes a written review of what they have learnt in the light of their overall goals. This forms an important part of their annual evaluation. This method allows them to better understand their new knowledge and to get a global vision of the year.


“Philosophy and theology permione to acquire the convictions that structure and strengthen the intelligence and illuminate the will… but this is fruitful only if it is done with an open mind and on one’s knees. The theologian who is satisfied with his complete and conclusive thought is mediocre. The good theologian and philosopher has an open, that is, an incomplete, thought, always open to the maius of God and of the truth, always in development”.

Pope Francis, Apostolic Constitution Veritatis gaudium


Picture of Federico Lombardi at our Forums 2020

Federico Lombardi, Forums 2020

“Les Forums du Centre Sèvres”

Each year, the Centre Sèvres holds a meeting open to all in January: the Centre Sèvres Forum. The evening includes a talk by a guest speaker on a current theme, a public discussion, and a time of prayer, before ending with a meal, with donations going to a charitable cause. The evening is a good opportunity to get to know the Centre Sèvres, and to meet both staff and students in a friendly and informal setting.